Posted in Tech Corner, Think Tank

Bring Back Tabs In Your Chrome Application

I sent my cell phone for some repair. It was repaired and working fine. The settings have been changed a bit as the software had been upgraded. But lo and behold! the Chrome application has its tab vanished.

I can’t see my tabs. I would open a tab and the previous one would be gone. I was unable to switch between tabs.

Then I found that due to the upgrade tabs could not be switched from within the application but could be navigated between like you navigate between open apps. (But pressing and holding the little square below in the navigation area).

This was very unwelcome. I was uncomfortable and didn’t want to make this shift. I want my old way of navigating between the tabs. And I found a way to do that.

Below I have compiled a step by step process, with pictures to help you bring back your tabs.

Step 1: Open Chrome App

When you open app by touching it’s icon you’ll find something similar to this.

Upgraded version. No navigation for tabs


Step 2: Go to Settings

Press the three vertical dots. You will find them in the upper-right corner of the application. Select ‘Settings’ from the menu.

step 2


Step 3: Turn Off ‘Merge tabs and apps’

You’ll find an option under ‘Basics’ saying ‘Merge tabs and apps’ and it is ‘On’. Change it to ‘Off’.

screenshot_2016-12-13-21-30-48


Step 4: Click OK

A pop up will appear asking you to confirm your decision to move tabs to tab switcher within the application. Press ‘OK’.

step 4


Step 5: Tabs Restored

Voila! You have got your tab switcher back. You can now navigate between tabs the ‘old way’ from within the application.

step 5

Leave a Reply

