Posted in Main Dishes, Recipes

Quick Pasta

I am back here again with an amazing recipe. Today while I was looking at the unused vegetables in the fridge I found some tomatoes, carrots and a capsicum. While cutting the veggies in cubes for the salad I suddenly came up with the idea of making some pasta. I checked my pantry and found a packet of Ringed Elbows and lo and behold! With little tweaks here and there, I invented a new pasta recipe.

Pasta_Start

Without further ado, here’s the recipe

Ingredients

  • 1 packet of Ringed Elbows (I used Kolson)
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1/4 tsp black pepper
  • 1 tsp red pepper flakes
  • 4-5 carrots (sliced into cubes)
  • 3 small-sized tomatoes (sliced into cubes)
  • 1/2 capsicum (sliced into cubes)
  • 1 onion (sliced into cubes)
  • 1 & 1/2 tsp garlic paste
  • Mint powder (for sprinkling)
  • 2 tsp chilli sauce
  • Grated cheese (optional)
  • 1 packet chicken cube (each packet has two) {Since chicken was not available I used chicken cubes}

Method:

  1. In a pot, boil water. Add a tsp of salt. Then add a chicken cube.
  2. When the chicken cube melts, add 2 tsp of oil.
  3. Let the water boil till the time you can see it bubbling. Add the packet of Ringed Elbows.
  4. Boil for only 5 minutes.
  5. Now drain the water and pour cold water over the pasta.
  6. Sprinkle some oil and let the water drain.
  7. In the meanwhile, heat 1 tsp oil in a pot.
  8. Add onion, chicken cube and garlic paste. Stir till the cube has melted. (If you have chicken, cut it into 1 inch pieces and cook till it become tender.)
  9. Add boiled pasta,tomatoes, red pepper flakes and salt in the pot. Stir and mix the ingredients well. Let it cook for about 3 minutes.
  10. Add carrots. Mix and continue to stir. Cook for about 5-7 minutes.
  11. Add capsicum. Cook for 2 minutes.
  12. Add chilli sauce. Stir well.
  13. Close the stove. Your pasta is ready!
  14. Take it out in a dish and top up with the grated cheese. I used cheese slices and covered half of my dish since cheese is not eaten by all in my family.
  15. Microwave for 2-3 minutes. It will allow the cheese to melt.
  16. Enjoy with tomato ketchup.

I have included the picture before I put the dish in microwave. While stirring, be careful as not to break the elbowed pasta. Do try and provide your feedback!

Pasta_End

Leave a Reply

